New Regional Collaboration Centre in Kampala Supports CDM Projects

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) secretariat and the East African Development Bank (EADB) have signed a partnership agreement to establish a regional collaboration centre in Kampala, Uganda in an effort to increase participation in clean development mechanism (CDM) projects

This is the second regional collaboration centre established by the UNFCCC and a regional development bank in Africa with the aim to bring the benefits of the CDM to currently under-represented regions. The first centre, which was established a few months ago in Lomé, Togo in collaboration with the Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement (BOAD), provides assistance in the development of CDM projects in Francophone Africa. 

Kampala, Uganda

Kampala, Uganda. Photo: weesam2010.

“The two regional collaboration centres in Lomé and Kampala are designed to help Africa increase its attractiveness and potential for CDM. Our goal is to build capacity, reduce the risk for investors in such projects and help make the continent an increasingly attractive destination for CDM projects,” said UNFCCC Executive Secretary, Christiana Figueres.

The office in Kampala will be operational as of 1 May 2013. The new office in Kampala is expected to enhance capacity-building and provide hands-on support to governments, non-governmental organizations and businesses interested in developing CDM projects in more than 20 countries in the region. Among the countries that can seek support from the new office are Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Libya, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 

“There is a great deal of untapped potential for CDM in Africa. The regional collaboration centres aim to tap the potential of carbon offset projects on the continent,” said Peer Stiansen, Chair of the CDM Executive Board.

Uganda, where the new office will be established, is one of the Least Developed Countries that is leading by example as it has already reaped sustainable development and other benefits from the  CDM. According to the UNFCCC, there are currently 12 projects and four programmes of activities (PoAs) registered under the CDM in the country.

The regional collaboration centres are intended to support the identification of CDM projects, provide assistance for the design of such projects, address issues identified by validators, and offer opportunities to reduce transaction costs.

Tags: , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply